David Bowie: The loss of something deep and profound

bowieSIDE-WKP-091914_1I cried this morning when I heard that David Bowie had died. And, I must confess, I cried though out the day while I listened to his music. Bowie’s music has been a part of the sound track of my life since I was a child. When I was a much younger person he influenced everything from the way I dressed to the odd poems and journal scribbling’s that I wrote often in an altered state.

I always felt like he was singing Rebel Rebel to me as a young new-wave/punk girl who had very short hair and too much make up.

Rebel Rebel is my favorite David Bowie song. What’s yours?

He meant something deep and profound to me.

I know for certain that many of my friends feel exactly the same way.

David Bowie’s last album Black Star was released on Friday. It is absolutely beautiful. In fact, it’s one of the best albums he’s recorded. It’s atmospheric, melancholy, melodic, and strange in the best way. Bowie made this record while he was dying of cancer. It was released on his 69th birthday. The fact that he could make a record this good under such circumstances proves that he was a one of a kind talent that the world is likely to never see again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

